Email Us! | ReBath Sucks Home | Site Index


ReBath of Colorado Springs Sucks!

ReBath In General Sucks!

Welcome To ReBath Sucks Central!

Source: unsolicited email received January 30, 2012
January 30, 2012 - content has not been altered.

John of Cincinnati, OH

You can add this franchise to the growing list of ones already appearing on your site. I contracted with Re-Bath in late 2002 for work that converted my existing shower / tub enclosure to a stand-alone shower. At the time, this franchise was offering a program that gave buyers a choice of either purchasing the unit at a reduced rate or paying the full price ($4,400) which would then be refunded in full following a three year period providing certain criteria were followed. I chose to pay the full price, filed for and received my certificate for refund with specific instructions on when it and all of the required documentation were to be remitted. This was all a HUGE scam as the refunding agency went bankrupt and even though a class action was filed against them, all I ended up receiving was around forty lousy bucks. I was advised by my attorney I could have sued the local franchise (as was done in other states and franchises), but I elected to chalk it up to another "life lesson learned".

As bad as this was, it doesn't even begin to touch the surface of my complaint. The "one day installation" actually took the better part of two full days and in the process, we ended up with a hole in the door entering our master bath, ugly, yellow unremovable glue on our linoleum flooring and plumbing that freezes each and every time the temperature drops below 30 degrees, a problem that did NOT exist before Re-Bath.

Following completion of the work, I immediately contacted the owner about the door and glue (not yet being aware of the drainage problem). These calls went on for several weeks and never did amount to the owner making a visit to check and / or repair the damage as promised. I finally got to the point that it just wasn't worth my time to continue these calls and repaired the door myself. The glue remains on the flooring to this day.

Which brings us back to our drainage issue. The first couple of years the freezing was fairly infrequent and tolerable. Obviously dependant on weather conditions, it just wasn't something I was overly concerned with, although I probably should have been. Over the last couple of years however, its occurrence has become more and more prevalent. I attempted to reach the owner several times last year via e-mail, all of which went unanswered.

This year, when the drain froze the first time temperatures reached the upper 20's, I felt this was no longer something I could or should have to tolerate. Re-Bath guarantees all of their work for life, which is inclusive of all fixtures, piping and labour. I contacted the owner on a Saturday and he then asked me to call him back the following Monday so an appointment could be scheduled.

I spoke to this owner on 1/16/12 and explained our situation to him. I also advised that I distinctly remembered the original "master" plumber (who is no longer with the franchise) having difficulties matching our existing PVC drainage pipe to the opening in the new base Re-Bath was installing. He spent several hours on this portion of the job and from what I recall ended up "piecing" the two openings together via some type of joint or connection. It was obvious to me that therein was why the freezing was occurring. Either this "piece" was not properly installed or it was not properly insulated, both of which fall under the category of poor and improper workmanship.

The owner advised he didn't know if there was anything he could do at this point. I reminded him of Re-Bath's lifetime guarantee at which time he advised he would need to "pull our paperwork" and get back to me to schedule a visit. It has now been exactly two weeks and I've yet to hear back from the owner. Not surprising though, considering how he ignored my multiple calls and requests for the damage to the door and flooring.

I attempted to contact corporate Re-Bath via their web site twice last week and did not receive a response either time, even though the site advised I'd be "contacted shortly". I also composed a fairly lengthy e-mail much in the manner of this one which was sent to (an address I found via Google) but I have yet to receive a response to it either.

It is becoming more and more frustrating with every day that passes without so much as a call or return e-mail. We are considering putting our home on the market this year and will undoubtedly need to have this problem repaired prior to doing so. With the real estate disclosure laws in place, we certainly do not feel we should be burdened with having to advise potential agents and /or buyers of this fairly significant issue that would not exist had the system been installed correctly in the first place.

I greatly appreciate a site like yours where we consumers can get the word out on companies such as this. It's amazing that a corporation the size of Re-Bath cannot or will not take the time to respond to legitimate complaints and concerns against their franchisees, not to mention the complete apathy shown by these local owners.

Thanks so much for your time.

Cincinnati, Ohio

Welcome To ReBath Sucks Central!

ReBath In General Sucks!

Click Here for a list of ReBath Store Locations. We can't say that other offices are as pathetic as ReBath of Colorado Springs and the sites listed in the complaints but we sure do wonder. Based upon the attitude of Re-Bath Corporate, we would expect they all are as incompetent as Re-Bath Colorado Springs. Possibly worse. But we don't know. Use them at your own risk.


free page hit counter